Invictus (Unconquered), I am the Captain of my Soul

“Invictus” by William Ernest Henley (1849-1903)

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

How often do you have thoughts of your unconquerable soul?  Do you feel yourself a master of your fate or a captain in life? 

I regularly find myself in awe of the vision and courage of our founding fathers.  In the “fell clutch of circumstance” they found agreement.  They imagined the foundation of the American republic, a new nation, full of possibilities for glory and freedom, peace and plenty.  They were captains of their unconquerable souls.

Every time anyone anywhere overcomes adversity, they are captains of their unconquerable souls.  Stephen Hawking is a scientist whom I hold in high esteem.  Hawking began developing symptoms of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease) when he began his graduate studies at Cambridge, eventually leaving him with limited use of his physical capacities.  Such challenges would leave most in a state of blame or anger, but Hawking neither “winced nor cried aloud.”  He made and continues to make full use of his mind.  A master of his fate, unconquerable soul.

Life is full of twists and turns.  Of that there is no doubt.  The question is whether or not you will meet the curves that will inevitably come…unbowed and unafraid.  Mastery and captainship are within your grasp and they are the key to the revelation of your greatness.

13 thoughts on “Invictus (Unconquered), I am the Captain of my Soul

  1. Pingback: Authority and Critical Analysis | Gregg Hake's Blog

  2. Colin

    I love reading about people who overcame adversity, who did something that others said couldn’t be done. There are so many stories of people that achieved the impossible. I’ll bet most people could do a lot more than they even know they are capable of. Here’s to the unconquerable soul.

    Like

  3. Susan

    I read a quote recently that said “The human spirit is stronger than anything that can happen to it.” The one thing we always have is the ability to choose how we deal with our circumstances.

    Like

  4. Lady Leo

    Nelson Mandela said while he was imprisoned for 27 years this poem was his inspiration to keep going on. It helped him remember they could limit his physical freedom but they didn’t control his heart; they couldn’t make him hate nor give up.

    There are many quotes attributed to our founding fathers, as they went through their dark and uncertain times, that have given me insight, inspiration and guidance.

    I believe when this poem was written the author was very challenged, I think he was ill.

    We all go through rough times in our lives, illness, strife and tragedy. Some probably our own making, some not. What quote of ours will be remembered?

    Many people think that you can tell a persons true character by how they handle themselves under pressure. I guess one advantage is, that’s the time we can truly see for ourselves what we are made of and if we find ourselves wanting we still have the option to change.

    Like

  5. DeeDee

    Wow, I really did not know the Stephen Hawking’s story. It would have been easy for him to take a defeatist attitude given his condition, but what an accomplished life he has and is living. What an inspiration that he chose not to waste his opportunity to live his life to the fullest.

    Like

  6. Brad

    Great post! – the sense of commitment & determination brings to mind a piece by Dean Alfange – I Do Not Choose to Be a Common Man –
    “It is my right to be uncommon – if I can.
    I seek opportunity – not security. I do not wish to be kept a citizen, humbled and dulled by having the state look after me.
    I want to take the calculated risk; to dream and to build, to fail and to succeed.
    I refuse to barter incentive for a dole. I prefer the challenges of life to the guaranteed existence; the thrill of fulfillment to the stale calm of utopia.
    I will not trade freedom for beneficence nor my dignity for a handout. I will never cower before any master not bend to any threat.
    It is my heitage to stand erect, proud and unafraid; to think and at for myself, enjoy the benefit of my creations and to face the world boldy and say. ‘This I have done.'”

    Like

Leave a comment